top of page
  • Writer's pictureTodd Blankenship

Baby Jesus Enters the Off-season



Nativity

WASHINGTON, DC—After another grueling Christmas season, the beloved symbol of the newborn Son of God is set to hang up his swaddling clothes until the season picks up again in late 2019.

With reverence, he reflects on this last year as an overall success, and credits it to his typical regimen of lying perfectly still in a manger, staring straight at the Virgin Mary, as fans and passersby adore him and reflect upon what he symbolizes. Although this was another good year of representing the holy figure of Christianity, Baby Jesus has no plans to ease up while he's in storage.

"It's easy to just go through the motions when you're in my position," he shared. "I mean, I'm just a tiny figure in the Nativity team, but of course I know that my role is crucial. I haven't forgotten that, and so I just try to stay focused even when I'm not there in my manger under the star."

Baby Jesus revealed that he carries out a strict daily routine while not on display. Whether in a plastic tote in the crawl space, or protected in bubble wrap in a box in the attic, B.J. maintains his legendary status by holding perfectly still wherever he lies. He explained, "It's not a game to me, you know? It's a lifestyle."

Whatever his method, fans throughout the world agree that it is working. Neneveh Garcia, 38, for example, stated that she is Baby Jesus's number 1 fan. "I like all of the Nativity players, of course. The shepherds are good, and Joseph has an important part to play. But you just can't have Christmas without Baby Jesus. Whatever he's doing, he just needs to keep it up because it's working!"

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page