top of page
  • Writer's pictureTodd Blankenship

Area Woman Taking Time Away from Family to Focus on Career



SALEM, OR—After spending several months weighing her decision, local resident Elizabeth Cortez-Hawkins, 35, has made the difficult decision to take a few years away from her family so that she can focus on her career.

The legal consultant admits that she has felt increasingly torn between her obligations to her clients and her two daughters, 3 and 5, for the last few years, while also trying to spend time with her husband of 9 years, Reginald Hawkins, 36. She explained in an interview with The Colon, "I just feel like I have been doing half of what I need to at both my home and at work, and so something has to give. I have been so fortunate for my time with my daughters and my husband, and I wish them all the best as they continue to grow and have life experiences, but at this time in my life, I just feel like I am missing precious opportunities for my career."

Cortez-Hawkins, a graduate of Notre Dame, further stated, "I have clients that need me, and I need to be able to give them my full attention. These are companies that are getting bigger every day, and I don't want to look back in a few years and realize that I let them down because I was off at some piano recital or swim lesson."

Regarding his wife's departure from the family, Mr. Hawkins commented, "We're sad to see her go. She's been an excellent mother to the girls, and I couldn't ask for a better partner. Naturally, we support and respect her choice, but if things ever change, there will always be a position for her here."

As for her clients, the construction firm, Mackly Construction, expressed great excitement at the news. "We couldn't be happier," the owner explained. "We have been secretly hoping for this for a long time. We already have so many plans for her first week."

30 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page