top of page
  • Writer's pictureTodd Blankenship

Interview with a Loamer: the Moral Superior to Vegans



TAOS, NM—So you think that as a vegetarian you are morally or nutritionally better than your omnivorous neighbor? Or perhaps as a vegan you feel yourself better than an indulgent vegetarian who eats eggs and cheese? Well, we invite both of you to meet someone even your moral superior: Madeline Carmichel of Taos. We report here on our recent interview with her.

The C: So, Madeline, what makes you so different from a vegetarian or a vegan?

M: I am actually both. I began several years ago by avoiding all meat, and later realized I also wanted not to victimize animals by using the produce of their bodies in the form of dairy products or eggs. So I became a vegan.

The C: And then?

M: I read the scientific research on the psychology of plants, indicating that they, too, have feelings. Did you know that a plant feels sad when you cut it, or pluck it out of the ground?

The C: No, I didn't know that. Do you mean that when I harvest a carrot out of my garden I am causing it pain?

M: Of course! You are ending its life! You are pulling it from its home, from its source of nourishment!

The C: So, you do not eat anything that is plant-based? Where then do you get your nourishment?

M: From the same place the carrot got it: Mother Earth! I derive my strength and health from the earth itself.

The C: So... you eat dirt?

M: Don't refer to it as "dirt"! One immediately thinks "dirty," reflecting a wide-spread prejudice against the ultimate source of nourishment for all of us.

The C: Ah... would "soil" be better?

M: No! That reminds you of something "soiled" - same as "dirty," like soiled underwear or a soiled shirt.

The C: So what term would you prefer for this widespread substance?

M: Farmers, who rely directly on its nourishing properties for raising helpless plants, only to kill them, call it "loam." "Loam" has only good connotations. I am a "loamer": someone who derives nourishment directly from loam, without the intermediate deaths of animals or plants.

The C: So, how does that work? You just take up a cup of dirt... er, "loam"... and what?

M: Mix it with clear water and make a sort of soup. A little salt adds to the flavor. No pepper, of course, since that comes from a plant. Or an old-fashioned "mud pie" - I must have been a budding loamer even as a kid, since I sometimes actually ate what we produced playing in the mud puddles. (She laughs.)

The C: Is that really a balanced diet?

M: It's good enough for the plants, so I figure it's good enough for me. Oh, I also take vitamins and minerals. I have found a few supplements that have a statement on their label saying that they contain no animal or plant matter, just natural chemicals. And don't get me wrong. I sometimes will eat some plant matter, but only from plants that died naturally. A friend, for example, saves me the rose petals that fall naturally in her rose garden. They are a real treat.

The C: But in eating loam, aren't you ingesting live organisms such as bacteria or tiny bugs? Doesn't that somehow violate your fundamental principle of not wanting to harm living things?

M: There is no research that I know of saying that microbes or such have feelings. I mean, let's be reasonable. That would be silly, to worry about the feelings of microbes! I'm not some kind of nut!

The C: Of course not (nervous chuckle)! How many other loamers are there? Is there any effort underway to spread loamism?

M: Not many, that I know of. As a loamer, it's a little hard to connect. I mean, who's going to invite you to dinner? And nobody accepts my dinner invitations a second time. We get more ridicule than praise - some omnivores call us "loamies."

The C: I suppose you save a lot of money on groceries?

M: Yeah, I don't have to shop for food. Just take my trowel and a little bucket to the nearest vacant lot. Still, what I save on the grocery bills, I probably make up for with medical bills, what with my severe weight loss, anemia, failing organs, and such. But hey, nobody ever said caring was easy, right?

17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page