top of page
  • Writer's pictureTodd Blankenship

Third Grader Thinks Black History Month Is Celebration of the Crayon



TIFFIN, OH—As is common in the third grade class at Noble Elementary School, the students were given a writing assignment. Teacher Jeff Mercer, 30, regularly asks his class of 23 children to write about a topic that will allow them to "stretch their boundaries." In January, the students wrote about New Year traditions in other cultures.

Mercer explains, "Because it's February, I thought it would be a good idea to have them learn more about Black history. You know, I figured they would write about some of the great contributions that African Americans have made to the world." After reading one student's paper, he wishes that he had been clearer.

"I told the class that for the writing assignment, we would be writing about Black history. I told them to find a figure in history who was Black, and who has made a big difference in their life, even if indirectly," Mercer said, shaking his head and smiling slightly.

When it came time to grade the assignments, he was impressed by the thoughtful celebrations of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., George Washington Carver, and Harriet Tubman, among others. "Then I came across Avery's paper," he said, slapping himself on the forehead.

"It starts out, 'For my paper, I choose [sic] to write about a black figgur [sic] that has been dear to me, and made a very big differents [sic] in my art projects.' I knew something was off at that point," Mercer shares.

Avery Newman, 8, went on for 57 words about how much she appreciates her black crayon. "She even went on to give its history," Mercer relates. "She got it in a set from her grandma when she turned 5."

Mercer was unsure how to approach Avery's assignment. "I mean, technically, she did follow the assignment. I looked over the description, and she did talk about a black figure, noted contributions, gave me a short bio of it. It's all there."

Avery, who is often seen on the monkey bars at recess, declined to comment on her paper, stating only that she is not allowed to talk to "strangers."

In the end, Mercer gave Avery's assignment a unicorn sticker, which is a sign of a good job, but he explained that he would be sure to discuss with the class at least one African American historical figure each day for the rest of February, "to try to get this into her little head somehow."

24 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page