top of page
  • Writer's pictureTodd Blankenship

Goldfish Resolves to Swim Counterclockwise This Year



DES MOINES, IA—At the start of this new year, many people all over the world have set goals to improve their lives or the world around them. Tradition holds that a new year is a time for fresh starts and renewed motivation. Such is also true of the animal kingdom, it appears, as one young goldfish shares her story of a New Year's resolution. 

    Goldie Prawn, a 3-month-old Carassius auratus, has set forth a plan for her 2019 that is sure to shake things up in her gallon-bowl home. "It's one of those things that you slowly start thinking about one day, but you keep putting it off for some reason," explains the Petco graduate. "You know how it is. 'Maybe when things calm down,' or 'I'm just too tired.' Well, not anymore. At the stroke of midnight on January 1st, I started swimming around the bowl counterclockwise, and so help me, I'm going to keep at it!" 

    It's now day 4 of her new routine, and she remains determined. Goldie admits that it's been harder than she thought. "Yeah, as a goldfish I have a hard time remembering what goals I've set. I mean, I don't really have a concept of time, even, so I'm really relying on my muscle memory to take over. Most mornings I forget that I set the goal, or even which direction is counterclockwise, but then I see the sticky note I left myself and I get my little tail a-flapping."

    Although the initial transition has been disorienting, Goldie is quite certain that the new direction of swimming will soon be automatic. "Either that, or I'll get a little too warm and die," she added.

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page