top of page
  • Writer's pictureTodd Blankenship

Halloween Ham & Razor Sandwich



Hey again, friends! For this Spooky Saturday, I thought we'd do a foodier recipe that's perfect for Halloween.

Call me old-fashioned, but I'm still a fan of the whole razor-blade-in-candy concept that was big a few years back. The trend seems to have died down a bit, but since when does that mean you can't enjoy it on your own anyway?


What I love about this recipe is that it's quick and super versatile. Also, it's perfect if your costume is a vampire or zombie or The Joker. With every recipe I'll be sharing here, I'll remind you to make substitutions for any ingredients you may have sensitivities to. I'll even offer some suggestions for popular switches you can make.

First, take 2 slices of bread (for gluten-free, I like rice cakes or lettuce leaves). Like any sandwich, you'll start with one slice as the base. Next is 3-6 slices of ham (or your choice of meat) layered to your liking. Now add 1-2 slices of cheese (the moldier, the spookier!). Follow up with fixings:

mustard, mayo, horseradish, pickles, lettuce, tomatoes to taste. Sometimes I'll even add a fried egg if I'm feeling fancy. The key ingredient is 1 razor blade (I especially like the kind from box cutters, but feel free to experiment with other types). If you're sensitive to razors, glass or live worms can be another good option to keep with the Halloween theme. Of course, you'll top it off with the other slice of bread.

Enjoy your sandwiches, folks, and let me know how they turn out! See you next week for our final Spooky Saturday!

11 views0 comments
bottom of page