top of page
  • Writer's pictureTodd Blankenship

Gourmet Mud Pie!



Happy Pi Day, everyone! We all know today is supposed to be a celebration of the number, but it's just more fun to make it about pie instead. To help with your Pie Day festivities, I thought I'd share a recipe that dresses up an old childhood favorite of mine: mud pie!

You remember making these in your backyard, right? I know I do, but they were never the kind of quality to make them worth eating. Don't worry; this recipe is the best I've tasted, so your party guests are sure to enjoy.

Filling: Start by selecting a high-quality potting soil. I like one with a lot of organic material and those little fertilizer pellets for a nice tang (be sure to read the label, though, in case you have any sensitivities to toxins). Put about 6 cups of the soil in a large bowl and mix in purified water (I've found reverse-osmosis water to be the best) until you get a good consistency.

Crust: Pick your favorite sand or tree bark to line a pie pan with, and pack it in tight to avoid any leaks. Then pour the filling in, and you're done! It really is easy as pie!

Chill for at least an hour before serving, then slice and garnish with crabapple preserves. Enjoy!

4 views0 comments
bottom of page