top of page
  • Writer's pictureTodd Blankenship

Repurposing Your Neighbor's Christmas Decorations



Hey all, I'm back! So, it's already past Groundhog Day, but your neighbor's house and yard still look like it's mid-December. Rather than passive-aggressively commenting that their lights are still up next time you run into each other, why not just put all that crap to work for you? Today I'm sharing my favorite ways to give new life to someone else's past-season Christmas decorations.

String lights - These can make a great jump rope for some noisy and potentially dangerous double Dutch. I recommend using these just outside the neighbor's window early on a Saturday morning.

Wreath - A bit of peanut butter and some bird seed will make this a great bird feeder for the neighborhood! It works especially well if the wreath already has pine cones on it. I like to hang this in a tree above the neighbor's car.

Inflatables - These are probably the most versatile of Christmas decorations for repurposing purposes. If your sociopath of a neighbor is still inflating them every night, you can start out using them as targets for archery practice. Once that's done, you can use all that fabric for almost anything. My favorite is a hammock for cuddling.

Santa - I like to use yard Santas as mannequins: dress him up however you want! When it's still up in March, throw some green on him for St. Patty's Day. If the Santa outfit comes off, he makes a great Cupid this month, too.

Sleigh - I've found the Santa sleigh lawn decoration can make an effective dumpster if you need the extra space. It's not like the neighbor is paying attention.

So those are my favorite ideas. Let me know how it goes or if you think of other fun ways to take back your neighborhood!

4 views0 comments
bottom of page