top of page
  • Writer's pictureTodd Blankenship

Feminist Unable To Find Tool Set in Right Color



PLEASANT GROVE, UT—Susan Driggs's home improvement plans suffered a major setback Saturday when three different stores didn't have the supplies she needed. Driggs, 29, recently purchased her first home and has been anxious to get settled in by assembling new furniture and making some small repairs. The last item on her shopping list for the weekend's projects was a tool set, but not a single hardware store in the valley had what she wanted.

A self-proclaimed feminist and licensed social worker, Driggs shed some light on her experience: "I'm a strong, independent woman. I like to do what car maintenance and home repairs I can, and I decided to get my own tool set for the new place since I'd been borrowing my roommate's up to this point." She explained her shock at finding that "at every single home improvement store [she] visited this weekend, the only tool sets were for men."

"Can you believe it?" the visibly upset food blog enthusiast demanded. "It's 2018, and not one of those stores had a women's tool set." When asked what she meant by "women's tool set," since tool sets are typically considered unisex, Driggs clarified, "You know, with pink handles and a cute case.... It's insane how much discrimination we deal with at stores like that, like they think women can't put things together."

The homeowner went on to criticize the "misogynistic" employees who suggested that she could be happy with any of the black or gray sets in stock. "There I was, in a rush to get home to work on stuff, and those vest-wearing clowns try to sell me crap I can't use!"

By 5:00 Saturday afternoon, Driggs had given up the search, ordered a set of hot pink tools online, and gone for frozen yogurt with her girlfriends.

40 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page