top of page
  • Writer's pictureTodd Blankenship

Film Promotion Asks Viewers to Have Realistic Expectations



CHICAGO, IL—Moviegoers have been surprised by a film preview preceding several major motion pictures in theaters now. Whereas most movie previews are directed in such a way as to tantalize the senses and evoke strong emotions, through dramatic scenes and music, this particular preview takes a more straightforward approach at promoting its film.

The preview begins with a forgettable melody playing in the background as the film's unrecognizable narrator appears onscreen, sitting on a stool before a white background, speaking into the camera, pausing after each phrase for effect, "When things seem like they are going well, but then some sort of conflict occurs, there must be a resolution."

There is then a pause as the narrator stares into the camera for a moment. He then says, "In September 2018, we are going to release a film that some of you are really going to love. Some of you are going to think it was a waste of your time and money. And most of you will think it was okay for a night out. That's good enough for me if it's good enough for you."

The screen then cuts to a mildly attractive young woman, staring through the window on a bus that is ostensibly driving on a highway near a cornfield. The expression on her face is one of deep sorrow. The narrator's voice continues as the woman is shown, "This is Tammy. See how she's sad? That's pretty interesting. There's a reason that she's sad that some of you can relate to, and others will think is stupid, but most of you will get at some level. Probably about 10 minutes into the movie, I'm guessing 15% of you will figure out how the whole thing is going to resolve, but the rest will at least get a little surprise. Those are good odds, right?"

The preview then ends with the title appearing in white text on black background, "The Reasonably Lengthy Ride." The narrator then says, "You probably won't regret seeing it."

Movie patrons who have seen the preview reported mixed emotions. One said, "I am definitely going to see it. I have hated every movie I've seen for the last 3 years. At least this one won't disappoint me!"

Another commented, "I do appreciate the honesty, but if I'm really honest, I kind of wish that they had lied and called it the greatest movie of all time. I almost always believe whatever other people tell me to think about it, so just tell me it's amazing."

One young man was visibly frustrated by the preview. "I don't get it. Was that being like, ironic, so it's like hip and funny, or was it serious? If it was serious then I'm totally bummed out, but if it was ironic, then this film is going to be epic!"

When reached for comment, the film's director stated, "Yeah, it's not my best film, but not my worst. It's not for everybody, but I'd probably still see it if I hadn't directed it. If you don't have, like, a kid's piano recital or a hockey game to go to, I'd recommend seeing my movie."

13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page