top of page
  • Writer's pictureTodd Blankenship

People Genuinely Appreciate Being Informed of Wrongness of Long-held Opinions via Internet



FACEBOOK, THE INTERNET — Despite wide-spread consensus to the contrary, it is now clear to science that internet argument is effective in swaying opinions and changing minds. While many consider the internet an "ideological cesspool" and "breeding-ground for ill-will," it would appear that the truth is very different. A series of internet surveys provided by Buzzfeed have led to an enhanced understanding of rhetoric, its place in the global environment of the internet, and which part of speech you would be.

Despite the common intuition that internet argument is extremely polarizing and unproductive in legitimate persuasion, the results of the studies confirm the reality that the internet is where change occurs. The majority of users on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, Yelp, Reddit, and various other internet-based forums sincerely value the inflammatory posts and comments that belittle their beliefs and call into question their humanity. Long-time political blogger Raymond Parry states, "I like knowing that, when I'm wrong, people care enough about me to let me know. It means so much more coming from complete strangers who excel in spelling errors, logical fallacies, and excessive profanity than it ever could from my intimate friends. I know I can trust their honest feedback."

Despite the pervasive notion that professionals possess more authority in their field of study than the average person, surveys actually indicate that the less-researched an opinion, the more power it has to sway any opposition and garner allies. Hostility, circular reasoning, oversimplification, and comparisons to historical dictators have been found to be some of the most convincing elements in this war of words.

"At first I was mad that an acquaintance compared me to Hitler for expressing my belief that a picture of a dress makes it look blue. But then I realized that, well, maybe I was being at least a little like that fascist jerk, and it's made me really start to explore the possibility that I am wrong," says avid Facebooker Madison "Madi" Bautista. "Of course I'm not mad about being compared to one of the worst monsters in history, who was responsible for the genocide of millions of innocents; my views on that dress are comparable, and I was clearly overstepping my bounds."

In the wake of this new information, dozens of high school debate teams around the country are making the move from auditoriums to internet forums in order to facilitate persuasive technique and open-mindedness. It has also been announced that the 2020 presidential debates will be conducted entirely online. The Wendy's restaurant Twitter account publicly proclaimed intentions of running for the presidency shortly after the announcement.

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page