top of page
  • Writer's pictureTodd Blankenship

New Anti-Theft Laptop Weighs 60 lbs.



PALO ALTO, CA—Following consumer demands for more cyber-security, computer companies have been developing ways to keep people's personal information and data safe. As identity theft remains a lucrative business, and more information is shared over the internet than ever before, there have been increased needs to ensure that information does not fall into the wrong hands.

On that note, a new product was released this week by HP, a popular manufacturer of personal computers. The new model is touted as an "anti-theft notebook," due primarily to its "gravitational security" feature. This latest security design focuses on increasing the mass of the laptop while still maintaining its sleek and modern design. Out of the box, the laptop computer weighs 60.3 pounds.

In a rundown of the new product, HP explains that, "outdated security features focus on encryption of your information in the event that someone walks off with your computer. We figure that by then, you still have lost your computer, so we want to stop that theft from occurring in the first place."

The device, which measures 17.3" by 12.8", was designed to discourage thieves from attempting a theft. A spokesperson for HP stated, "Imagine that you are in a coffee shop, probably writing a screenplay that will never be produced. Once all of that coffee is in your bladder, you dash to the restroom, thinking that it's fine to leave your computer there on the table for just a moment. Before, anybody could easily swipe the computer and be out the door in seconds. With the HP 60Gx, or 'Gravity' as we're calling it, that would-be thief can barely lift your laptop off of the table, let alone get it out the door."

Although several consumer review organizations have praised the computing performance of the new model, some have raised concerns that making the laptop so heavy would be an inconvenience for some of its owners. One review from Wired magazine reads, "I commute to the office on a bike most days, and so I'm always looking to pack light. I really appreciate the size of the notebook for that reason, but I definitely noticed the extra weight when I threw out my back immediately upon leaving my driveway. Still, while I was in the emergency room I left the computer in my car, and when I got back I realized that I had left my door unlocked, but the computer was still there!"

HP has heard the concerns about portability for consumers, and is currently offering discounts on small wagons, and forklifts to assist owners of the computer in moving it around.

The Gravity's MSRP is presently set at $1,850.

30 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page