top of page
  • Writer's pictureTodd Blankenship

Santa Criticized for Delivering Coal at All

Updated: Dec 6, 2019

NEW YORK, NY—Santa Claus, the beloved and iconic figure associated with Christmas, has come under fire recently for his practice of delivering coal to children who have been bad preceding the holiday. Some vocal critics have taken to social media to disparage the symbol of giving and jollity, citing what they see as an unnecessary jab to children whose behavior may not have been ideal in the months leading up to Christmas.

Critics seem to focus on the fact that leaving the coal in place of a present is cruel and unusual. One Twitter user, employing the #KeepYourCoal hashtag, posted, "Don't you think that's sort of a psychopath thing to do? He goes out of his way to get coal, wrap it up, and carry it in his sleigh, all just to insult some poor child. It's abusive!"

A local resident commented when asked, "I guess to me it just seems harsh. The kid is already not going to get a present, but instead of waking up to find nothing, they find this punch in the gut. I think it might be better to just find nothing, you know? At least that way they could maybe explain it away, like 'Santa forgot to come,' or something. Leaving coal is like a shot across the bow. 'You're a horrible child,' right?"

Others, in addition to the psychological damage it may do, cited the environmental impact Saint Nicholas' practice may have. Another social media user related, "Coal is a poison to Mother Earth. What if these kids decide to warm their hands up with it? Do you know the impact just one lump will have on their breathing air? Don't even get me started on the increased weight all that coal adds to the sleigh. I mean, we don't even know what kind of emissions those reindeer let out."

Rory Halstead, 27, reportedly received a lump of coal in the Christmas of 1999. He shared how he believes that impacted him. "That disappointment of opening up a meticulously wrapped present on Christmas morning, only to find a big, stupid black rock, is what pushed me over the edge. I mean, I'd been kind of bad. I'd eaten a cookie or two before dinner, and I bothered the cat a few times. Sure, I'd pulled my sister's hair. But getting that coal - I don't know. It was like it labeled me. It's like I was hated by the man who is supposed to be the jolliest. I guess I figured if he thought I was a bad kid, I would show him just how bad I could be. Anyway, my first arrest was at age 12, and then I was in and out until just last year. Now I don't believe in nothin'. And I don't think I ever will."

As the outcry continues, some are beginning to speculate about what sort of changes may occur in Mr. Claus' practice of providing free presents to every household on the planet that celebrates the holiday. Some suggest that children be offered consolation or participation presents, if nothing else. Others suggest that the resources that would have been used to acquire and deliver the coal could be put toward charitable gifts for less fortunate children who were good.

When reached for comment, Mr. Claus said, "Looks like a whole lot more ungrateful little pipsqueaks who don't mind their own business will be getting coal this year! Ho ho ho!"

37 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page