top of page
  • Writer's pictureTodd Blankenship

Peddlers Should Clearly Enunciate What They're After

By Johnathan Peavy—In a fast-paced world full of advertisers vying for our attention while we distract ourselves with noise-cancelling earbuds, clear communication is vital. Unfortunately, not everyone understands this modern necessity, and this is to everyone's detriment. Of course all know what I am addressing: the incoherent mumbling and pleas of our vagrants and peddlers.

I cannot begin to count how often I have walked from my place of work to a nearby restaurant, or the reverse course, carefully poring over the news of the day or perusing the latest shoe fashions on my smartphone, only to realize that a few steps behind me was a person openly requesting some manner of financial donation. Every time, I think to myself, "Well how unfortunate. Had I known that this person was addressing me, perhaps I would have had a moment to respond." Then I wonder just how many times I've walked by a person requesting a contribution whom I'd never actually heard at all.

These experiences lead me to my main point. I hope that peddlers and vagabonds who find themselves seeking assistance from passersby will heed my request by speaking up, addressing clearly to whom they are directing their message, and expressing concisely what their goal is.

As an example of what not to do, take an elderly gentleman I passed by not 3 days ago. I was walking through the streets of downtown Chicago, flooded by sounds and sights from all angles. This man was making feeble efforts to call attention to his plight, with most of his words either slurred or drowned out by the sound of the elevated train passing us over. I walked right by him with no clue whether he was addressing me or just the world in general, and whether he wanted money for food, clothing, or directions to the Museum of Art. And so, like everyone else, I walked right past him without doing anything.

I hope that he finds this website and reads this page, so that he can take some advice on how to better get his message across. Had he stood up straight and held his chin high, looked me directly in the eyes and said, "Pardon me, John. I am currently in need of food or currency which I could exchange for food. Would you be so kind as to assist me in this pursuit?" I would have certainly considered his clearly expressed proposal.

Instead, when I walk by with my eyes on the steps right in front of me, and I hear no more than, "Hey, man, you gonna help me out today or what?" I simply do not have the time to decipher whether I am this "man" whom you are addressing, and what you mean by "help [you] out."

Speaking clearly and directly not only shows respect to the person you are addressing, but also will help you hold yourself in some dignity. And I think that's something of which the vagrant community is in dire need these days. So please, homeless persons, do us all a favor and help us understand what it is you want.

10 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page