top of page
  • Writer's pictureTodd Blankenship

"Call Me Bambi." Woman Transitions to More Feminine Woman


PARK CITY, KS—A local resident recently announced that she would be making a gender transition from a woman to a more feminine woman.

The woman formerly known as Jennifer has chosen to be identified as Bambi from now on, feeling more comfortable with a name that she finds much more fitting of her identity.

"For all of my life, I just felt like I was not being true to myself," she explained. "I went along with how I was raised. You know—wear pink, grow my hair long, paint my nails and look pretty. It just never felt quite right."

Bambi explains that she found herself wanting to try things that seemed reserved for other young girls. "My friends would get manicures and pedicures. I was so jealous, and felt silly with just painting my nails on my own. I dare not say anything, of course. Who knows how my parents would have reacted?"

Bambi would find herself sneaking into her mom's closet to try on the highest heels she could find, and she would put on brighter lipstick than she had ever been allowed. "It was exhilarating," she shared. "I was so scared of getting caught, but I felt like it was me. I felt finally like I could be myself."

Bambi continued to experiment in private with her identity struggle. She would sometimes wear sun dresses behind a locked door. In October of 2017, she tried her first pumpkin spice latte, and even started watching cooking shows online when she knew her parents weren't home.

Bambi eventually married her husband and had a child, which she had always wanted, but she never quite let on just how badly she had wanted to be a nurturer. "I kept telling my friends that I wanted to eventually get back to work, but secretly I just wanted to care for my little bundle of joy. It was so hard to keep a secret just how much I loved to take care of [her son] Nelson."

She says that her decision to finally transition to a more feminine woman came about 2 months ago, when her husband found her watching Pride and Prejudice. "He casually commented that he didn't know I liked that kind of film. I was so embarrassed, and we had a talk that night about how I'd been feeling. He took it really well, and is just glad that I feel more myself now that I'm less interested in sports and red meat than I pretended to be."

Bambi shares that her friends are all a little surprised that she has been taking baths with a glass of wine more often than they realized, and that she's more into body creams and lip gloss than she had originally let on, but they seem to genuinely feel happy that she is happy.

As for how her transition will affect Nelson, Bambi says that she's not entirely sure, but she's certain that if she does her best, Nelson will accept her for who she is. "He's even starting to babble enough that sounds like 'mamma' so I think he's getting it."

333 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page