top of page
  • Writer's pictureTodd Blankenship

Getting Sleep With a Newborn



Hey babes. I don't know about you, but it's time for me to lose those 18 ounces I gained over the winter break so that I can be ready for bikini weather! So I've been super busy burning calories reading social media and celebrity gossip, and haven't had much time for letters.

Lucky for you, I did open up a random one to find a pathetic soul looking for wisdom. G.T. from New England writes,

Dear[est] Cassie, if anyone can help me, it's you [, you glorious piece of work]. I just had my first baby 6 days ago, and I love him so much! But I'm just so tired all of the time! I can't seem to find a minute to close my eyes before he needs something else. I know he'll eventually get on a regular schedule, but do you have any advice for me that will help now? Thanks so much!

Oh my gosh, G.T. Congrats on the little bundle! And you are right to reach out to me. I know exactly how you feel! A couple of years ago I had a friend who asked me to take care of her fish while she went on a trip for a couple of days. I can't even begin to describe what a drain that little guppie was on my sanity—it was like in between every one of my podcasts or fashion shows, the little guy needed a couple of pellets of food, or needed me to glance over at the thermometer to make sure the water was the right temperature. I mean, I don't know how I ever got to sleep with that kind of responsibility bearing down on me every 24 hours or so.

Anyways, I do have some tips for you that should help. I found that after the first 12 hours or so of being in charge of that fish, it helped a ton to just hire someone else to be in charge of him. This is a good option, because then you are free to do whatever, like go to a rave, or whatever it was you were asking about.

Another good idea is to see about some really good quality ear plugs. That way, when you're not ready to deal with the little guy, you can just pop in the ol' ear plugs and the problem is solved for a while. Just don't get carried away with that or people get really upset with you.

It may also help to think about things from the baby's point of view. I mean, what is it you're doing to keep him happy? One thing that always puts me in a good mood is a nice masala chai. Even when I'm feeling grumpy or colicky, that often cheers me up. I can also usually distract myself from my problems by coloring my hair or getting highlights or something. I bet that would really cheer the kid up.

Okay, well I'm bored now. I think I'm done here. Good luck with all that, and keep following my column for more great advice!

9 views0 comments
bottom of page