top of page
  • Writer's pictureTodd Blankenship

Lots of Charming Insecurities



Do you find little personality quirks to be endearing? Well then get ready to fall head-over-heels.

I am in my late 30s, and have plenty of charming insecurities. As one example, pretty much no matter what you do, I will find a way to interpret it negatively. You could tell me my hair looks nice, and I will simultaneously assume you're just trying to make me feel better that it's thinning (which you find sickening), you think I'm dressed like a homeless person because you didn't say anything about my clothes, and you are horribly vain because you care about appearance and will ultimately leave me as I age.

Adorable, right?

If you think that's charming, I'm basically on the brink of despair at any given moment. If you enjoy reassuring a grown man about whether he's a worthwhile human being, I think you and I should meet.

I've resisted even the clearest indicators that I have any virtue at all. I've won awards, I'm good at my job, and I'm generally liked by my colleagues and neighbors, but I promise you, if there is a crack in that foundation, I will chip away at it until the floodgates burst open. Then, you and I can have delightful conversations while you try unsuccessfully to patch me back up. In that way, I'm a bottomless well of deep, heart-to-heart conversations.

Let's get started today. Already with each minute that you don't call, I'm feeling increasingly worthless and vulnerable...

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page